counter
Counseling
The 2019 novel coronavirus (COVID-19) is a new virus that causes respiratory illness in people and can spread from person to person. This virus was first identified during an investigation into an outbreak in Wuhan, China. It is being closely monitored by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Miami-Dade County Public Schools (M-DCPS), including all Charter Schools, will close all school sites for the week of March 16, beginning Monday, due to COVID-19 (coronavirus). The following week, Spring Recess, will continue as planned.

During school closures, students and families may pick up hot meals to go, both breakfast and lunch, between 9:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m at your assigned public schools.

Virtual instruction starts Tuesday, March 17th. All students should report to their 1st period teacher's virtual classroom, which can be accessed through www.matermiddlehigh.org. Students please dress appropriately: NO tank tops, sleepwear, pajamas or inappropriate logos/images of any kind will be allowed.

If you have any questions send us an email at materhelps@materacademy.com. This email is to ask about access to Zoom or Google Classroom, any questions related to the virtual instruction, contacting teacher, find information and/or if the school-provided device is having issues.

If your son/daughter is having difficulty dealing with the stress of the coronavirus, please contact their school counselor (see below) or visit https://www.psychologytoday.com/intl/blog/anxiety-is-not-the-boss/202002/how-talk-your-anxious-child-about-the-coronavirus:

Dr. Julio Leal (Grade 6 and Grade 7 [A-L]): jleal@materacademy.com
Mrs. Arlene Benigno-Lantz (Grade 7 [M-Z] and Grade 8): alantz@materacademy.com
Mrs. Sabrina Garbezza (Grade 9): sgarbezza@materacademy.com
Mrs. Adela Bradley (Grade 10): abradley@materacademy.com
Mrs. Carmen Perez-Perez (Grade 11): cperez@materacademy.com
Mr. Julio Perez (Grade 12): jperez@materacademy.com​​​​​​​